The Future of Health Care Starts Here image

Vinaora Nivo SliderVinaora Nivo Slider
Become A Student
Moody Health Center

TCC News & Events

TCC Names Dr. Brad McKechnie President

PASADENA, Texas – The Texas Chiropractic College (TCC) Board of Regents has named Brad McKechnie, DC, DACAN as the institution’s 14th president, after serving as the interim president since April 2014.

An honor graduate of TCC in 1985, Dr. McKechnie returned to his alma mater as an assistant professor in the department of clinical sciences. He also twice served as a dean during his tenure, managing postgraduate education and later overseeing external affairs for the college. In 2009, Dr. McKechnie was named to the TCC Board of Regents and he served on the Board’s Academic Affairs Committee, Postgraduate Committee, and the Finance Committee.


2014 Fall Career & Networking Fair

Thursday, November 20

11:00 am – 3:00pm

Harris Administration Building

We’re excited to kick off the Fall 2014 Career and Networking Fair hosted by the Alumni Relations office.  We need your help to make it a success!  If you are currently looking for a chiropractor to join your team or would just like to meet our students and network with your future colleagues, please consider joining us.

Read More

TCC Board of Regents name Dr. Richard Brassard President Emeritus

Pasadena, Texas - Texas Chiropractic College (TCC) is pleased to announce Dr. Richard G. Brassard, DC, FICC, as President Emeritus. The Board of Regents met on July 19, 2014 during the TCC Annual Convention in Galveston Texas where they voted unanimously to grant President Emeritus status to Dr. Brassard.  

Dr. Brassard began his relationship with TCC in July of 1985 when he was first appointed to the TCC Board of Regents.  He held this initial appointment until 1991 and then was reappointed in July 1995.  In 1997, Dr. Brassard was elected to the position of Vice Chairman and then elected as Chairman in 1999.  On January 1, 2002, the board appointed him as president-elect of TCC and he took the mantel of president on January 1, 2004, a position he held for 10 years before retiring.

Read More

New Officers, Members Named to TCC Board of Regents

PASADENA, Texas – Monte Blue, Ed.D., past president of San Jacinto College Central Campus, was elected the new chairman of the Texas Chiropractic College Board of Regents during the biennial officer elections on July 20, 2013. The summer meeting of the Regents was held in conjunction with TCC’s annual homecoming and convention activities in Galveston, Texas.

Dr. Blue joined the Board of Regents in 2008 and is joined on the executive committee by Larry C. Johnson, vice chairman; Ken Cauthorn, treasurer; L. Bert Williams, D.C., secretary; and Armando Baños-Alvarez D.C., M.D., at-large. Johnson previously served the executive committee as treasurer.

Dr. Monte Blue, New TCC Board ChairPrior to his appointment to the TCC Board of Regents, Dr. Blue served as president at SJC Central for 25 years, overseeing tremendous growth and expansion in the college. He earned his doctorate from the University of Houston in 1979 after receiving both his bachelor’s and master’s degrees from the University of North Texas. Blue has been an active member in the community, serving as past president of the LaPorte–Bayshore Chamber of Commerce, the Southmore Medical Center, and the LaPorte Rotary, and has served on the boards of the San Jacinto YMCA and Economic Alliance Houston Port Region.

Johnson, who joined the TCC Board of Regents in 2006, is the president and CEO of Loomis International, Inc. He is a 1983 graduate of the University of Houston-Clear Lake with a degree in accounting and finance and went to work at Loomis in 1983 as a staff accountant. Johnson then worked his way up the ladder before purchasing the company in 1996. In June 2008, Loomis International was honored by the Pasadena Chamber of Commerce as the 2008 Small Business of the Year.

Cauthorn was appointed to the TCC Board of Regents in 2009 and served on the finance, insurance review, audit and institutional advancement committees before his election as treasurer. He is a managing partner of Hampton Tax Group, which works with small businesses and independent healthcare practitioners to develop sounds business strategies along with personal financial planning.

Dr. Williams also joined the board in 2009 and is a 1975 graduate of TCC. He is the founder of Champions Chiropractic in Houston and is an active member in the profession and in his community. A 30+ year member of both the American Chiropractic Association (ACA) and the Texas Chiropractic Association (TCA), Dr. Williams has held multiple positions of leadership with the TCA. He was also presented with the 2009-10 Community Leader of the Year Award by the Economic Forum at Lone Star College.

A member of the board since 2007, Dr. Baños practices in Pachuca, Hildago, Mexico. He earned his medical degree from the Universidad Autonoma del Estado de Hildago in 1991, then soon after enrolled at TCC. Dr. Baños earned his doctor of chiropractic degree in 1994 and has been a staunch advocate for chiropractic in Mexico ever since.

Dr. Blue takes over for Donald Krippendorf, D.C., who served as chairman for the past four years. He was first appointed to the board in 2005 and was elected to a two-year term as the vice chairman in 2007. Other officers who are rotating off the board are Jack Christie, D.C. (2006-13), John Felker, D.C. (2004-13), and Bang Nguyen, D.C. (2001-13). Also leaving the board this year are Alfred L. Cartman, Jr., D.C.; Ana Hernandez Luna, J.D.; and John Gentile, D.C.

New to the TCC Board of Regents in 2013 are Lambert E. Collins, D.C.; Peter J. Yeh, M.D.; and Oliver R. Smith, Jr., D.C. Dr. Collins and Dr. Yeh were appointed at the spring meeting of the board while Dr. Smith joined at the summer meeting.

Dr. Collins is a 2007 graduate of TCC and is the owner of Katy Lifestyle Chiropractic where he additionally provides acupuncture and nutrition services. In 2008, he was named the American Black Chiropractic Association’s Young Chiropractor of the Year.  He earned his bachelor of business administration degree from the University of North Texas in 1980.

A 1994 graduate of Northwestern University Medical School, Dr. Yeh completed a one-year internship in general surgery followed by a five-year residency in neurosurgery, both with the University of Texas Medical Branch in Galveston. He is currently an attending neurosurgeon at four Houston-area hospitals and is board certified by the American Board of Neurological Surgery.

Dr. Smith is a 1975 TCC graduate and quickly got involved with TCA and ACA as he entered into practice with his father. He held many TCA positions including a stint as president (1984-86) and was honored in 1997 with the Keeler Plaque Award as the outstanding doctor of chiropractic in Texas. He has also been active with the state and national licensing boards, serving as the president of the Federation of Chiropractic Licensing Boards (2007-09) and receiving its highest honor, the Arvidson Award in 2009.