The Future of Health Care Starts Here image

Vinaora Nivo SliderVinaora Nivo Slider
Become A Student
Moody Health Center

TCC News & Events

TCC Names Dr. Brad McKechnie President

PASADENA, Texas – The Texas Chiropractic College (TCC) Board of Regents has named Brad McKechnie, DC, DACAN as the institution’s 14th president, after serving as the interim president since April 2014.

An honor graduate of TCC in 1985, Dr. McKechnie returned to his alma mater as an assistant professor in the department of clinical sciences. He also twice served as a dean during his tenure, managing postgraduate education and later overseeing external affairs for the college. In 2009, Dr. McKechnie was named to the TCC Board of Regents and he served on the Board’s Academic Affairs Committee, Postgraduate Committee, and the Finance Committee.


2014 Fall Career & Networking Fair

Thursday, November 20

11:00 am – 3:00pm

Harris Administration Building

We’re excited to kick off the Fall 2014 Career and Networking Fair hosted by the Alumni Relations office.  We need your help to make it a success!  If you are currently looking for a chiropractor to join your team or would just like to meet our students and network with your future colleagues, please consider joining us.

Read More

TCC Board of Regents name Dr. Richard Brassard President Emeritus

Pasadena, Texas - Texas Chiropractic College (TCC) is pleased to announce Dr. Richard G. Brassard, DC, FICC, as President Emeritus. The Board of Regents met on July 19, 2014 during the TCC Annual Convention in Galveston Texas where they voted unanimously to grant President Emeritus status to Dr. Brassard.  

Dr. Brassard began his relationship with TCC in July of 1985 when he was first appointed to the TCC Board of Regents.  He held this initial appointment until 1991 and then was reappointed in July 1995.  In 1997, Dr. Brassard was elected to the position of Vice Chairman and then elected as Chairman in 1999.  On January 1, 2002, the board appointed him as president-elect of TCC and he took the mantel of president on January 1, 2004, a position he held for 10 years before retiring.

Read More

TCC Board Honors Faculty With W.D. Harper Award

PASADENA, Texas – The Texas Chiropractic College Board of Regents has honored the College’s faculty with the William D. Harper Science of Existence Achievement Award, the school’s highest accolade. Faculty members received the award during a surprise announcement at TCC’s annual convention last month in Galveston. As some faculty members were unable to attend the event, and additional ceremony was held Tuesday evening on campus.

tcc-faculty 2013harperaward1“While discussing the continued hard work and the many achievements of our faculty, and their students, during board meetings, selecting them to honor with the Harper Award was an obvious choice,” said Dr. Monte Blue, chairman of the TCC Board of Regents. “We are proud of what they’ve accomplished so far, and are excited to have the opportunity to publicly applaud their work.”

Of special interest to the board have been achievements in the areas of national board scores, research participation, enhancements of the student experience on many levels, and the reaffirmation of accreditation with the Council on Chiropractic Education. TCC students have demonstrated marked improvement on national board exams over the most recent testing periods as a result of curricular changes and teaching enhancements spearheaded by the faculty.

TCC made a record showing at the 2013 Association of Chiropractic Colleges’ Research Agenda Conference, with 46% of the faculty participating in the presented research. Additionally, nine TCC students were involved in the research presented. The faculty engagement with students on research extends beyond ACC/RAC as students are now presenting their own research at national conferences, including the Biomedical Research Conference for Minority Students, the National Center for Human Performance, and the American Chiropractic Board of Sports Practitioners - Sports Symposium.

“I think I speak for the faculty when I say we were all taken by surprise by this prestigious honor and are very appreciative of the Board of Regents recognizing us as this year’s recipients,” said Dr. Martha Friesen, TCC Faculty Association President. “We’re all teachers, and to be rewarded for what we love to do is rare in academia. Usually it’s for how many letters there are at the end of your name, or how many citations you have in journals. All of us work here at TCC because we love to teach.”

The TCC faculty continue to hone their skills, working with professional educators at area universities, including the University of Houston – Clear Lake and Baylor College of Medicine, in the areas of research and curriculum development.

Dr. Monte Blue, TCC Board Chair, congratulates Dr, Robert Routh The TCC summer 2013 faculty members receiving the prestigious award are: Alan Adams, Brian Batenchuck, Victor Benavides, Aladin Boriek, Jesse Coats, Stefanie Coforio, Jeffrey Coyle, Dwain Daniel, Karlene Denby, Steve Dyess, Kimary Farrar, Stephen Foster, Martha Friesen, Leonard Giblin, Denise Haynes, Brad Koby, Carla Kruger, Catherine Leduc-Ramcharan, Ezzat Mikhail, Patricia Moore, John Mrozek, Nancy Petersen, Michele Quattlebaum, Michael Ramcharan, Robert Routh, David Schimp, Ken Sorrels, Ces Soyring, Dorrie Talmage, Alan Thompson, Jeff Thompson, Ken Tyer, Lee Van Dusen, John Ward, Carol Webb, Jeff Weiss, Barry Wiese, Amy Wright, Larry Wyatt, Shari Wynd, Isis Zaki, and Fred Zuker.

The award is named for Dr. William D. Harper, president of TCC from 1965 to 1976, the College’s first 11 years in Pasadena after moving from San Antonio. A native of Texas who grew up in various locales in the Lone Star State, in Mexico and in the Boston area, he earned bachelor’s and master’s degree in engineering in 1933 and 1934 from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), and his chiropractic degree at TCC in 1942. Prior to being named president, Dr. Harper was himself a member of the TCC faculty for 15 years.

Top image: Texas Chiropractic College faculty with the William D. Harper Science of Existence Achievement Award at the college’s annual convention in Galveston, July 19, 2013.

Bottom image: Dr. Monte Blue (left), chairman of the Texas Chiropractic College Board of Regents, congratulates Dr. Robert Routh, professor of anatomy, one of many members of the TCC faculty honored with the William D. Harper Science of Existence Achievement Award at a special ceremony on Aug. 13, 2013.