If you need a more accessible version of this website, click this button on the right. Switch to Accessible Site


You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

Close [x]

Follow Us

Dr. Martha Friesen awarded at Deer Park’s annual Salute to Education

As the summer 2016 trimester comes to a close, Texas Chiropractic College faculty and students are finishing their final exams and anticipating a short break before classes begin again in the fall.  This trimester concluded with the Deer Park Chamber of Commerce’s annual Salute to Education, recognizing the hard work and achievements of local instructors. 

Texas Chiropractic College’s own Dr. Martha Friesen walked away with two awards, one of which she said was a “big surprise.”   Friesen was awarded the 2016 -2017 Deer Park Chamber of Commerce Outstanding Faculty Member of the Year award for the third time.  She previously won this award in 2004 and 2011.  Friesen was also awarded a Certificate of Special Congressional Recognition by Rep. Brian Babin of the 36th Congressional District.   

Friesen has been a faculty member of Texas Chiropractic College since 1999.  She is a professor in the basic sciences teaching human biochemistry, general microbiology, and pathogenic microbiology to first year students.  Friesen received her MS (1978) and PhD (1982) in microbiology and immunology from The University of Louisville in Louisville, KY.  

When asked what she attributes this year’s success to she joked, “Good clean living!” She then followed up with, “Support from other faculty and students…it’s always easier to succeed when you have the support of the TCC community at large.”